Tiffin

IMAG1782

I had never heard of Tiffin until my boyfriend mentioned it was one of his favourite treats. (Okay, not true, I heard of it, in one of the old Carry On films, Carry On up the Khyber. They mentioned it, I had no idea what it meant, but as it was a Carry On film, I assumed it was something naughty…later found out it was a light meal eaten during the day)

In essence, it’s an elaborate chocolate digestive…but so much better!

Due to Tiffin requiring no actual baking, just chilling, it is sometimes known as ‘Fridge Cake’ and was invented in the early 1900’s in Troon, Scotland. It is perfect with a cup of coffee, as pudding after dinner, or maybe just as a naughty treat!

Ingredients.

IMAG1772

450g of Digestive biscuits – Half crushed, half in small chunks, or can crush them all.
450g Chocolate – Broken up into squares, you can use milk or dark, or even a mixture.
220g Unsalted Butter – Cut into smaller pieces
4 Tablespoons of Sugar
4 Tablespoons of Golden Syrup
8 Tablespoons of Coco Powder
Handful of Raisins
Optional – White/Dark Chocolate – 
To decorate – Broken into squares

Start by lining a tin with baking parchment, you’re not baking but it makes life easier.

IMAG1771

If you haven’t done so yet, crush those biscuits! I don’t actually have a food processor >.< I know, I’ll get one when I have my own kitchen. I put half the biscuits in a sandwich bag at a time and break them up with a ladle, it’s quite therapeutic really. I tend to go for about half completely crushed, half small chunks, that way you get two different textures when eating, though all crushed works really well too. Place it all into a bowl and throw in the handful of raisins. It really is only a handful, by all means add more if you want, the main idea is just the odd little taste of one, not to overload it.

IMAG1773

Next you wanna place the butter, sugar, golden syrup and coco powder into a sauce pan and melt very gently, don’t wanna burn the mixture.

IMAG1774

When it’s melted, pour over the biscuits and raisins and stir thoroughly.

IMAG1776

Tip the biscuit mixture into you lined tin and press down firmly. A few holes will be inevitable, especially if you’ve gone for the half crushed/ half chunks mixture, but if need be you can break it up some more, shake it up and re-press it down. When it’s done, shove it in the fridge for an hour or so.

IMAG1777

Next, melt the chocolate, I used milk chocolate for mine, just what I prefer. I placed it broken up into a glass bowl in the microwave for about 20 seconds at a time, stirring in between so it didn’t burn. I recommend reducing the power of you microwave down to make burning less likely, if you can. When done, pour over the chilled biscuit and spread it evenly over.

IMAG1778

To be honest, that is now done, and can go back in the fridge for another hour. OR you can decorate the top and make it look just that little bit fancier. If you are, now melt the additional chocolate, I used white, the same way you did the milk. when it’s ready, take a small spoon and drizzle it over the top. You can do it anyway you want, I went for a up and down and left to right drizzle. I’ve also done a combo of dark one way, and white the other, can do whatever you want really, and it doesn’t matter if it looks messy, because…

IMAG1779

Now, take a toothpick, or a very thin knife and just brush it through the melted chocolate. This can be done in straight lines down or to the sides, or even little swirls to really mix it up, again, however you want. I just went down in straight lines, regularly changing toothpick to keep it clear, added bonus of this, can lick the chocolate off the last toothpick as you carry on swirling hehe

IMAG1780

When done decorating, pop it back in the fridge for another hour, then chop it in to squares or slices. Keep in an air tight container in the fridge, will keep for at least a week, but I doubt it will last that long!

As always I’m on Twitter and would love to see your pictures if you make this.

Enjoy! ^^

IMAG1782

